Motorcycle theory test – booking and preparation

Once you’ve completed your CBT, you’ll need to pass a theory test before you can take your motorcycle practical test. You’ll need to draw upon what you’ve learned from your theory test when take your practical test. The test is specifically designed for motorcyclists so you will need to take it even if you’ve passed a car or HGV theory test.

The motorcycle theory test costs £31 and can be booked online at the website. There are test centres in most major towns across the UK so you won’t have to travel too far.

As with any test preparation is the key to success, so it’s important to have access to the right study materials.

The test itself is divided into two parts:

  • the multiple choice part
  • the hazard perception part.

Get the app

The Official DVSA Theory Test Kit for Car Drivers is probably the best resource for preparing for your theory. Yes it it aimed at car drivers rather than motorcyclists, but the theory questions and hazard perception test are 99% the same. The app costs £4.99 but it’s cheaper than a retest.

The app is available on iOS and Android.

Preparing for the multiple choice test

The questions and theory that form the multiple choice test are taken from three main publications.

The highway code and know your traffic signs are available freely online (see our resources pages), so the DSA guide riding – the essential skills is the only must have purchase, however many people find it easier to learn when they hard copies of all three titles.

When studying for the multiple choice test, it’s important to learn the understanding behind the reason behind the answers rather than just learning how to pass. The knowledge you gain here will be vital in your journey to becoming a good rider.

Preparing for the hazard perception test

The hazard perception test is a series video clips based around everyday road  scenes. Each scene contains at least one developing hazard, but some clips may contain more. The purpose of the test is to check your ability to recognise and respond to hazards, and to improve your awareness as a rider.

The official hazard perception tests features 14 clips with 15 developing hazards. A mark of 44 out of 75 is required to pass.

Each developing hazard is worth 5 points. To gain maximum points it’s important that recognise the difference between a potential hazard and a developing hazard.

A developing hazard is one that requires the rider to take action of some sort, whereas a potential hazard does not require action.

An example of this might be a parked car up ahead. At the moment it’s not a hazard but it has the potential to be. If the car begins indicating to pull out, it then becomes a developing hazard and requires action from the rider. In this instance it might be a mirror check and a reduction of speed.

The hazard perception test is one that most people have problems with, but that needn’t be case for you if you’re well prepared. It does take some getting used to we previously recommended The Official DSA Guide to Hazard Perception (DVD), but these days it’s all about the app.

Next steps